Press Release


TO: Mount Joy Borough Residents

FROM: Samuel Sulkosky, Borough Manager

DATE: January 02, 2019

RE: Reapportionment of Borough Wards; Ordinance No. 4-18 (Adopted on June 4, 2018)

Mount Joy Borough currently has a three-voting ward system known as the East Ward, West Ward and Florin Ward. Voters elect three Councilors from each of the three wards for a total of nine Councilors. In 2018, Borough Council reviewed the Borough’s ward system and decided to reapportion the Borough’s Wards.

The primary reason that the ward system is being reviewed is the population numbers per ward is very unequal. Based on the 2010 US Census, the residents per ward is as follows:

Pre-reapportionment population per ward:        Post-reapportionment population per ward:
Florin Ward: 3,404                                                             Florin Ward 2,409
West Ward: 2,151                                                                West Ward 2,507
East Ward: 1,855                                                                 East Ward 2,494

The Pennsylvania Borough Code § 601  (d) Composition states “All wards in the borough shall be numbered and composed of compact and contiguous territory as nearly equal in population as practicable as officially and finally reported in the latest official census”.

The Borough Council adopted Ordinance No. 4-18 on June 4, 2018 that will redraw the Borough ward boundaries with an effective date of January 1, 2019. The Lancaster County Voter Registration Office will notify any Borough voter that is affected by this change by the first week of January 2019 by sending a new voter registration cards to those residents that will be moved to  new ward. If you have questions on ward reapportionment, you can send an email to The new Ward Map is available on the Borough’s website at http://mountjoyborough. com.